JLPT-Japanese Language Proficiency Test

So it’s almost that time of the year again.  No, it’s not Halloween think further down a few months to December. No I’m not talking about Christmas either or Boxing Day I’m thinking more along the lines of exams.

I’m going to be a real downer and remind all us students that, yes our exams are closer than we think.  As amusing as exams tend to be, one of the exams I’m actually excited about is the JLPT- Japanese Language Proficiency Test.

Introduction to JLPT

For those of us who don’t know, the JLPT is the standardized Japanese language test that has 5 levels of difficulty N5, N4, N3, N2 and N1 with N5 being the easiest and N2/N1 being the hardest.

I thought it would be appropriate to bring up the JLPT topic seeing as I just registered for the N4. In the past, I never wanted to take any of these tests because I didn’t see the benefit, but somewhere along my self-studying journey I needed the motivation. Now that I’m in a class I get the chance to actually take it and get reimbursed!

Now that I’m actually considering to go to Japan sometime during my ‘academic career’ I really have a reason to improve my Japanese: The JLPT has a different impression on me now than in the past.  There is also the EJU which is specifically for those who want to enroll in Japanese Universities, but that’s another topic for another post.

The JLPT only tests language (grammar/vocabulary), listening and reading. Don’t worry, there’s no speaking component to this test!

 

What are the Benefits?

  • The self-satisfaction of knowing how far you’ve come along in your studies or, it acts like a gauge to show how much more you need to go. No matter how hard I tried, that’s the only benefit I could find for people who pass the N5, N4 and N3. I would assume that it may help you in some other ways but that’s just my speculation.
  • You get points towards preferential immigration treatment for professional positions only for N1 certificate holders

To be honest most of the benefits go towards N1 and N2 certification holders. For example, in order to get health job positions you need N1.

For those of us taking the JLPT make use of all the available resources out there on line.  I would prefer borrowing the JLPT review books from the Japan foundation library once it opens up.

Interesting fact, I was recommended to register for N5 but when I looked at the N5 test it felt like something I could easily pass whereas the N4 seemed passable, but with a struggle. I’m being a bit of a rebel now by choosing the N4, but I have to prove that I can handle it.

Anyway, I wish the best for all of us out there this year.  I wonder how it will be like seeing all the other test takers at York University this December!

Leave a Reply

