Kendo Vs. Naginata

I am just really beginning to love blogging. I felt a strong compelling force that brought me here and now I’m writing a post I didn’t plan to right initially.

First off, I’m back on my high horse and am truly over not getting nominated. I feel that burning eager sensation as I think about applying for a research scholarship. Unlike my first round, I have around four years to prepare!

Anyways, I thought I should mention I was officially accepted into Japanese class after my assessment. It was great seeing that email last night, and great knowing I wasn’t forgotten. I can’t believe I’ll get a chance to be in an actual class this time. I wonder how it’ll go and I’m excited. It’ll be my first time learning Japanese in a class!

Speaking of university, I am proud to say that I have had the chance to try out both Naginatta and Kendo. Before University, I never even knew about naginata, but it looked like something I would want to try and I did.

Disclaimer: I didn't take this picture. I did try to block out names

Disclaimer: I didn’t take this picture. I did try to block out names

Disclaimer: I didn't take this picture. I did try to block out names

Disclaimer: I didn’t take this picture. I did try to block out names

So What’s the Differance?

Naginata has been more of a woman’s weapon than a man’s one

It’s long shape is good for long distance attacks. Often women of samurai families where taught this. Naginata differs from kendo in that, since they are longer, opponents stand further back from each other and  stand with this kind of sideways stance.  you can stand on either side. In Kendo, you’re supposed to face forward.

Although to most, both martial arts looks like it’s all in the powerful swing of a sword, but it’s not. I never really realised that there was actually more to it when I had the chance to try both. You’re very footing is important and so is you’re stance.  It’s hard keeping all the right stance and footing while you move. It’s like once you’ve gotten the hang of it, you’ve trained your mind to focus on more than one thing. That’s what I personally think, because I found it hard just moving forward while holding the shinai.

In both, to win you need to land two proper  hits on the opponent. It’s not just attacking though, there is Ki-Ken-Tai icchi which is scnchronizing your spirit, sword and body. So in order to get a point in the match, you can’t just strike, but you say where you’re attacking , actually you yell. It shows your spirit. You’re stance has to be right to.

The Kendo shinai is short and so the opponents can stand closer and face each other. Unlike naginata where you have the sune (or shin) attack, you are not allowed to attack the lower body in Kendo. For this reaon, a match between a kendo fighter and a naginata fighter under naginata terms ,the latter ends up winning because the sune isn’t allowed in kendo.

So I’ve mentioned sune, which is basically the shin and it’s a possible place of attack in naginata, there is also, men (the head peice),do (abdomen peice) and kote (wrist)

I personally prefer naginata because of the more options in things you can do.

You can read up some more on these links if you’re interested.

http://www.kendo-usa.org/abtken.php

http://www.kendo-guide.com/terminology_ki_ken_tai_icchi.html

Images:

Leave a Reply

