I’m actually learning Japanese!

For the past 2 years, I never would have thought that I would be able to learn Japanese in a class, but here I am with homework nonetheless.  Let me just say it was awesome, because I’m actually building up on my conversational abilities. The problem with being a jibunde learner, at least for me, was that I focused more on taking in information that giving out. I am better at reading and understanding Japanese than I am at writing and speaking it.

Anyways, I am using the Marugoto A2 books. It’ll be a bit sad that we’ll just learn polite and not casual, whenever I’ve done language exchanges with people, they often told me that I was too formal. I don’t know how they were able to tell when I really spoke a little. It’s alright learning polite because it’s better safe than sorry.

That reminds me I wanted to write about language exchange…

Here I am announcing a report of my level so I can look back and see if I’ve improved. I’m going to measure my skills on a scale of 1-10. This is a very similar idea to what I mentioned in setting a reference in my other post.

1)Reading(kana): 7.5

2)Reading (Kanji): 1

3) writing: 3

4) listening/understanding: 6

5) speaking: 3

Announcements!

 1) Awaodori dancers will be performing at the Japan Foundation Toronto for culture days, on Saturday 27th at 1:45-2:45 pm

2)  I have another post I’m working on that I started before this but it’ll need more time because of the research needed. It’s about Naginata and Kendo!

Leave a Reply

